What am I doing wrong?

Sherita

Ok fellow ARCers, I need some help here. Because something ain't right :)

I'm trying desperately to lose weight, some of you know this, some of you don't (well, you do now). I've altered my diet, 1250 calories a day max intake. Eliminated 99% of refined sugars from my diet. No sweets, no snacks. Lots of raw veggies (which I love), fish (broiled/baked), skinless chicken (broiled/baked). Very little in the way of processed/canned foods. I work in construction and own a small homestead, so I'm always on the move doing something physical. Medically, there is nothing wrong with me other than the fact that I'm carrying around 60+ pounds more than I should be.

Stats: I'm 5'8", 196.2lbs. Target weight is 135. Weight loss to date is less than 6 pounds. At my activity level, and caloric intake, I should be losing a minimum of 1.5lb a week. Not happening, not even close.

Before anyone says anything, yes, I am working with a doctor. Her answer is:exercise more, eat less. I'm frustrated and aggravated. So, if any of you folks have any suggestions, please throw them down on the table.

And, I'm not thinned skinned, so don't be afraid that you will offend. You won't. I'm not looking for excuses, I'm looking for answers. Ideas anyone?

What sort of exercising do you do outside of your very active daily lifestyle? There's obviously nothing wrong with your diet especially having cut out processed foods. I think the calorie deficit equations are very idealistic as much as they should seem scientific. Just based on my experience with sports and exercising, it sounds like you're at one of those plateau stages, where you have to do something different or significantly more intense for anything to change.

Was going to say the same thing. Activity level has plateaued. Shock the system and do other physical activities. If you jog, then go swimming.

You can never beat cardio mixed with a good dietary intake level to lose weight. Good luck with your goal.