Newbie from far North

KeeperOfTheZoo

Hi Y'all,

At the recommendation of Momma (Hi Laura!) I've found the forum and joined. I'm so excited to find a group of 'local' folks that are just as excited about saltwater aquatics as I am. I'm not quite in Austin, about an hour and a half north actually but I'm in Austin all the time. Closest big city, I live real rural.

I am very new to having a saltwater aquarium. I've had freshwater for years (have 3 tanks running right now a variety of community fish, gouramis and angels) but literally stumbled into a deal on an established saltwater tank that I just couldn't refuse. I had a week and a half to prepare myself before moving my new tank home. Now I'm learning as I go and aside from putting a LOT of crushed coral down as a substrate (advice from the tanks previous owner) I haven't made any other catastrophic mistakes and I haven't killed anything (knocking on wood).

I have a 125g primarily FOWLR tank with a community of mature predatory fish: 2 Sgt. Majors, 4 Orbicular Cardinals, an unidentified damsel (maybe a blue sapphire?) and an 18" long snowflake eel. Since these fish came with the tank I figured I'd leave them in there during my 'break in' period. As soon as I feel like I have half a clue as to what I'm doing I want to switch to reef friendly community fish.

Thanks to Laura I have a beautiful little green ricordea (which is doing great!), I also have a cluster of red mushrooms. I hope to increase the 'reef' aspect of my tank very soon here! I'm also looking forward to adding a large variety of inverts.

And so the addiction begins. :(

Liz

Hi Liz!

Welcome aboard. I joined the site about 2 weeks ago and am still surprised at how much information and free good advice there is floating around. Don't be afraid to ask questions. I've been quick to learn that everyone is very friendly, and always willing to help out another reefer :(

Hi Liz!!!!!!!biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif