Clams vs LEDs

Jmvanness

I've been reading about clams for a bit now and have decided on derasa. They seem to be the most hardy and also the only one that I know of that you can place in the sand bed without having a rock or dish to put it on. As soon as I find a cool one in Austin im gettin it!

Can't comment on LEDs but I'm new to clams also and my first one is a tiny maxima. It was roughly 2" when I purchased it and it's grown about an inch maybe. Been pretty easy. Just made sure not to let it be in the open air too long, burp it once it's in the water, placed it on a little pile of rubble and in a couple days it attatched itself. Been easy since then. Just sits there and looks cool.

Yes.

post-1247-0-29345600-1421248380_thumb.jp

I've seen posts myself of people saying certain animals will only grow under one type of lighting technology but not another but this is a misconception. To put it simply a photon is a photon is a photon. The difference between a blue light and red light is blue light is a shorter wavelength (ie, more photons) therefor higher energy level. But a photon of blue light is the same as a photon of red light. The differences are in spectrum emitted and the intensity and LED fixtures can be designed to match both MH and fluorescent outputs but in practice there are differences. An interesting study shows corals can detect the subtle differences in spectra and adjust their growth accordingly:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4149485/

Spot on Tim. Anecdotally, I think we all have experienced corals adapting when they "brown out", "wash out" or "color up". All varying responses to different stimuli and water quality parameters. A photon is a photon is a photon. Is a photon. Is a photon.