Everything turning brown

KKAAY

ok, again I am new to this hobby and my tank is roughly 3-4 weeks old. I have live rock, live sand, two clowns(which seem to be only hanging around at the top of the tank) and some soft corals as well as a condy. Yesterday when I got home it seems that everything has a brown coating on it. I did some research and saw something about "diatom bloom". another reading said something about too much light. I checked my levels and everything seems to be in line.

can anyone shed some light on this and let me know how to handle this.

thanks for all the input

sounds like you are moving way too fast for how old your tank is! Slow down and be patient. Nothing good happens fast in a reef tank. Your system is most likely not ready for the bioload you have added. It takes time for a reef tank to mature and to establish the biodiversity to handle a bioload as you slowly add critters and corals. It is most likely a diatom bloom and will turn into algae as the stages progress... add a few snails and hermits but hold off any anything else for quite awhile so your system can mature.

Agree with everyone else. Your tank is just in the beginning stages. I would do a 20% water change weekly for a month without adding anything but a clean up crew which should include some turbo snails and peppermint shrimps. I would stay way from hermits.