Budgeting for a tank

Mark V

Hey all,

I created various budgets for builds from 40 to 75 gallons. It looks like my range is anywhere from 1500 to 2600 depend on the build and what I could find used. I'm pretty sure I got most of the start up costs in there but wanted to if anyone had tips or advice on what I picking out for my planner. I was hopin to get a build under 1000 but really can't see that happening unless I find someone with a complete build that I like.

Also bear in mind I have very little DIY experience so stuff like a stand or drilled tank would be a bit intimating plus I also lack the tools. Actually hooking up a RO unit is a bit puzzling right now for me lol (I use to buy water from LFS or use Aquaparms deionizier when I ran my 55G last time I had a tank

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/lv?key=0AsPAUocHSXqTdHlnMlJXcGdJcExMOGZhR01GYTJ4QUE&pli=1

Edited by Mark V

Oh I forgot to mention. I will plan on seeding my rock and sand by buying some established LR and Sand from a LFS or a member here. 5 lbs of LR and a Cup of Live sand should do. I will cycle with Dr. Tim's One and Only.

The overall goal is a tank that is fairly stable and medium bioload. I want to get the most effective equipment I could afford to maintain the stability of the tank while not killing my budget. I plan on hardy or tank raised fish and softies and LPS. I may decide on an SPS or two but they would have to be the easier to keep ones. I'm all about hardy specimens

100 gallons is my limit in size. I feel any bigger could be too much maintenance for my liking and the livestock I prefer for a reef build do not require large tanks. The large amount of sand on some of these plan is due to attempting a deep sand bed. I planned builds with one and others without it.

Edited by Mark V
  • Like 1

Cant access the document.