OgreMkV

Trust me. Go see this movie. The story line is better than expected. Pay the $14 bucks for the IMAX 3-D version. The cinematography will blow you away. The science (for those of us so inclined) is fascinating.

It is really a stunning movie... by far the best movie I've ever seen.

I did the 3D, but non-IMAX version. I'd go see it again easily, and may just do that to see the IMAX version.

I'm a professional geek and the technology behind the film was what appealed to me the most. The "earth mother is good, but all corporations are evil (except the one that spent $200+ million to make this film, of course)" theme strikes me as a little hypocritical.

ON a scale of 1 to 10:

Technology -- 11 (a la Spinal Tap)

Storyline -- 6

Ability to immerse the viewer -- 8

All that said, I'd still go pay another $14 to watch it again.

I avoided the 3D version... not a fan of the presentation in general.  I thought it was a good movie.  Not too heavy handed on gaia, evil corps, etc. but you get a lot of "humans are superior".  It's one of the few I might actually pick up on blu-ray.

I avoided the 3D version... not a fan of the presentation in general. I thought it was a good movie. Not too heavy handed on gaia, evil corps, etc. but you get a lot of "humans are superior". It's one of the few I might actually pick up on blu-ray.

I would highly recommend seeing the 3D version and making another evaluation of that presentation.

This was simply the best 3D presentation I've ever seen (though I admit to only having seen a few). It was not done to be "in your face" or "ooh! something's coming at you!" It was done to enhance the look of the movie. And it does it in spades. The depth of the picture is simply amazing. :yesnod: