Green Hair Algae Control

tennisjad3

So I've been fighting GHA for a couple of months. I do a water change every 2-3 weeks and use only RO/DI water to top off. I also don't believe I overfeed as I have 3 small fish and a shrimp, I give them a little food every 2-3 days.  

What can I do to stop this menace? I take out the rocks and scrub them with a brush and pull it out manually. Any products/things I can dose? I got my water tested and they said it was 100% fine, is there a lesser known metric that isn't tested for in the general test?

Also, its a 29 Gal. I have a hang on the back protein skimmer/filter combo and a water pump. I hit it with blue LEDs from like 9am-10pm and white light comes on for maybe 4-5 hours a day

So I've been fighting GHA for a couple of months. I do a water change every 2-3 weeks and use only RO/DI water to top off. I also don't believe I overfeed as I have 3 small fish and a shrimp, I give them a little food every 2-3 days.  
What can I do to stop this menace? I take out the rocks and scrub them with a brush and pull it out manually. Any products/things I can dose? I got my water tested and they said it was 100% fine, is there a lesser known metric that isn't tested for in the general test?

Going through almost the exact same issue! I have no idea what to do. It started after I added a carbon/gfo reactor but I've since removed it and it's not gone away in months

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

2 minutes ago, FrankenBakon said:

Going through almost the exact same issue! I have no idea what to do. It started after I added a carbon/gfo reactor but I've since removed it and it's not gone away in months

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I hate it so much lol

have you checked the TDS on your ro/di water? GHA is most common w/ elevated phosphates, which comes in a number of ways, most notably top off water.  Check your filters.