Shawn's 29g Starter Tank

ShawnKoto

Hi All:

I am a new member to ARC. wave.gif You can find my 'Welcome' post here: http://www.austinreefclub.com/topic/32421-arc-and-hobby-newbie/

Anyway, I am completely new to saltwater aquariums. I know that I am going to make some mistakes with SW as I did with FW, so I decided to jump in on the cheap by buying a used 29g BioCube.

It was really cheap because it is all scratched-up, but it came with a clown fish, a bunch of live rock, the stand, and lots of equipment. I don't mind the scratches too much because I know that this is just my start the hobby. I want a big tank eventually and this project is ALL about learning. Of course I will be buying nice stuff and trying to make it the best that I can. :) I will be posting about all the livestock and equipment I acquire and the associated questions and initial experiences. Time to warm-up the credit card... something tells me that this hobby is going to give it a workout. tongue.png

--Shawn

• Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This was my start a couple days ago. The bag said pre-washed. hmm.png

post-3767-0-81900300-1412553294_thumb.jp

Everything I read on all the forums said that I should not waste my money on live sand--that well-washed pool sand would work great. But I couldn't do it, the allure of living organisms in my sand was just too great. I went for it. noexpression.gif

I read that this won't hurt anything. I have also read that the fines in the sand are actually a good thing once they settle because they allow increased surface area for good bacteria... i dunno... What I do know is that it took 3 days to settle and there is still a slight cloud in the air to remind me of my first learning experience and fail. blush.png

Onward!

--Shawn