New to salt water and looking to start a reef tank

Jason & Amber

Well as the title states i'm new to ARC. I have kept fresh water with my dad growing up and now have a 120g malawi cichlid tank and a 16g tanks with 2 shellies left. My

wonderful and loving wife has been trying to talk me into getting rid of the shellies and getting a nemo fish (yes 28 and calls it a nemo fish) so we have decided to take the plunge. With no real experience in it i joined the forum and am hoping to learn and start a healthy tank.

Thanks every one i'm really excited that my wife is getting into it a little and she was the one that actually offered up to get a bigger tank. We are just in the planning stages right now and looking for a bigger tank to use so she can get a few more things any ideas? We are trying to get a square tank that if 40-60g in black with a top reef ready or maybe a AIO system.

Yea that is what I would really like to do just cant find many. Trying to stay cheap if i tell here its another grand she will flip so looking used just not finding much right now. I actually got my 120g from a guy on here a year or two ago lol.

Welcome. Perfecto makes a 45 and 60 cube tank that comes reef ready. Not the cheapest things if buying brand new though. Stands tend to be tricky to come by on larger cube tanks unless you make your own as well.

If you're planning it out from scratch, I would definitely go RR with a decent sump. Just makes managing the whole tank so much easier with a good sump setup.