what is this?

Fj mike

I added a small thing of zoa's last week and now i am seeing two different things growing on the frag. One i think is a different colored zoa. the other ones, i have no clue about. they are growing on the right side of the disc. Could they be tiny aptasias? thanks for any help.

mike

post-3033-0-43323000-1355150875_thumb.jp

well i would like to try and keep them if they are anything good. but i didnt want the zoas on all my rocks, so i was gonna keep it on the disc. I also dont want multiple color zoas on one rock. should i just break the disc and let them grow seperately? here is a different angle as well, if it helps

post-3033-0-48850300-1355153537_thumb.jp

Thanks for the fast responses! im impressed. no i didnt dip it before i put it in the tank. what would I dip them in? sorry im fairly new to this. I didnt know they could reattach elsewhere. the rocks in my tank are a little big for the tank and It probably wouldnt be easy to remove them to control the spread. thats why i was trying to keep the zoas on the sand bed.

there are many different methods for dipping, so you're probably best off doing a little bit of searching around and then coming back with pros/cons for a certain method. Personally i use coralrx for bugs/worms, and then a hydrogen peroxide dip for zoas to get rid of algae

You should always dip your corals before putting them in your tank. I'm sure there are better articles out there but here is why http://blog.aquanerd.com/2009/06/dip-your-corals-guide-to-avoiding.html

As far as what you can use I would do a hydrogen dip http://www.bareefers.org/home/node/12533

For pest it may be but for any type of nuisance algae it's not. When I did a peroxide did everything reacted to it badly for about 30 minutes then opened up. LPS such as frogspawn are more sensitive to peroxide so I would at least dip the plug. For the zoa you can dip the whole thing or you can spot treat the area with a syringe.