Dinoflagellates :(

Demodiki

So I've been battling dinos for about 5 months and slowly losing the war. I've tried everything in the book and nothing has worked. So, I wanted to run my plan by you guys and get your thoughts.

I'm going to empty the tank and put all livestock in tubs. Empty the tank and throw away the sand. I'll scrub the tank of any algae or dinos. Put in new sand, dry rock, and water. Also, put in some type of live bacteria so I won't go through a cycle.

Next, I'm going to put the fish in the tank (there are only two). Ok, after this I plan on fragging what I can and cleaning the coral and plugs. I'll then put those in the tank. I'll then put the 150 or so lbs of rock in some water in the garage and give it a good cooking.

Any problems with this plan? Any chance the dinos just lurk in the background on the plugs and overtake again?

When I had them in my 90 g tank, I did a combination of many things. I raised my PH, I changed carbon frequently, I reduced my photo period, I scrubbed the rocks I did a series of small water changes where I was replacing the Dino-siphoned water with clean water. Shane had me siphoning into a sock when I wasn't throwing away the siphoned water. I fed every three or four days, I did this over a period of time and they began to go away as my nutrient levels went down. I've heard of carbon dosing helping, vodka would be the quickest method. I currently run bio-pellets and haven't had any issues.

I'd hate to kill your rock, scratching the sand will help for sure I think

I have been there. Honestly, running biopellets is what really turned things around for me. They cleared up really quickly and have not returned. I also run gfo and carbon. This combo seems to have gotten me on the right path.