Please help!

harloe

Hello, I am new to this and I have had my take maybe two months now taking care of my beta fish. Just recently since my last water change i have noticed an abundance of an orange substance on my rocks and decorations. I noticed a small amount during the last water change it wiped off under hot water and i thought nothing of it. my beta seem fine is this normal? i recently have lost on fish in another take with seemingly no cause PLEASE HELPPPP

Hello, I am new to this and I have had my take maybe two months now taking care of my beta fish. Just recently since my last water change i have noticed an abundance of an orange substance on my rocks and decorations. I noticed a small amount during the last water change it wiped off under hot water and i thought nothing of it. my beta seem fine is this normal? i recently have lost on fish in another take with seemingly no cause PLEASE HELPPPP

sounds like algae or diatoms. can you post a picture? if it is algae, your fish will not be at risk. post a pic and we'll go from there.

The skull has not looked like this ever. It just started happening after the last water change which was only a few days ago we noticed it last night. the yellowish orange substance is on the decorations and rocks in 3 of the 5 tanks (5 compartments in one tank to separate the betas) the two outside tanks have just one spot on the decorations and one separation glass has it slightly on the wall. but again the fish seem normal. attentive, playing and eating healthy.

post-3264-0-20828400-1370562681_thumb.jp

my betas are pretty aggressive so I think they would eat a snail also he wouldn't be able to move to each compartment. as far as the algae can I pull the decorations clean it and replace it or leave it out? and as far as the leaving the lights off. I have a 3 setting LED light (white, blue and completely off.) which setting would be ok the blue or just off.