First Tank - 16G Nano

DigsUT

As suggested in the "Welcome" forums, I have decided to post my very first tank in the build section. Hopefully, this will allow me to receive some valuable insight from the more established hobbyists. I am already receiving quite a bit of help from my GF on this this tank, but any additional advice that will allow this endeavor to be more successful is definitely welcome.

The particulars:

Tank: Innovative Marine Nuvo Nano 16

Pump/Filtration: Stock with the tank

Lighting: 2x Skkye 8W LED (Stock with tank)

This tank is being built from the ground up. I only have one piece of live rock amongst several pieces of dry. I have been cycling since Saturday 12/08/2012. I will be updating this thread periodically with pics of the start of the tank and as it progresses.

I am not 100% sure what I specifically want to put in the tank. I do know that I would like to do a combination of corals and fish. This is where the experts come into play. The tank is 24" long, so it would be nice to have fish that traveled around, but I am not married to that specification. I would like as much color as possible, obviously:p

If you have any suggestions or advice, I welcome it.

Welcome to ARC!!!

Do you have any idea what coral you want to keep? Leathers, LPS, SPS? That will help decide alot of things when setting up a tank.

Josh

Based on the minimal research I have done thus far, I am probably going soft corals and leathers based on the lighting that I have. I am browsing various sites to see what I like.

Welcome to the club Digs! I was previously warned by several people that saltwater is a very slippery slope. First, you start off saying " I only want to do soft corals, zoanthids..." Next thing you know, you're building a sump, an LED fixture, and a 100 gallon reef tank with SPS everywhere! Keep in mind you get discounts with an ARC membership, you also benefit from group buys from vendors!