Blindsides Rimless Reef

blindside

Wassup ARC! long time no see!

soooo... long story short as many of you know, ive been thru SEVERAL tanks... I took a very long break from "reefing" tho, ive had this sitting in my closet for over a year now, and decided why not give it a go! lifes been a bit complicated, but I feel like im now more stable then ever, as a professional tattoo artist I have become very busy, working over 12 hours a day, and all the traveling involved in my career... from west coast all the way to the east coast, and everywhere in between.. soon to be over seas im sure.. BUT I have a little more time on my hands now that I have worked my a** off for everything to be more stable. Also raising my 3 year old son has not been an easy task... ha! (that guys nuts!)

Anyways, on to the tank build! I have decided to stay in the nano realm, and start off with something simple and not as time demanding.

• 6 gallon glass rimless tank 16x11x8
  • Fluval underwater filter
  • Fluval auto temp adjusting heater
  • Rapid LED par38 17k 80 degree bulb ( not yet installed)

My plans for the tank, keep it simple, so far it is housing a pair of extreme misbar clowns, and a fire shrimp. I would like to add a few smaller fish, maybe some tiny gobies, a strawberry pseudo for color, and some cool inverts. As far as coral goes, I will eventually venture back into housing SPS, but for now I will take it easy, maybe some nice ricordeas.

Here is the tank sitting in its permanent location.

SAM_0210.jpg

SAM_0209.jpg

SAM_0208.jpg

I had put 5lbs of live sand and filled it up with saltwater, no liverock. I noticed the top shelf bowing just a bit, so i cut some pieces of MDF i had lying around and drilled them to the next shelf under sitting directly under the tank to help support the weight of the tank when its fully stocked, it no longer bows.

SAM_0217.jpg