filtration delima

Brandon

so i have a 55 gallon tank that is fish only with a clown fish and a damsel in it at the moment. i currently have 20 pounds of live rock and i run two 55 gallon rated hang on filters but i want to upgrade the filtration system and a sump would be near impossible to fit under my tank. so my question is what is the next best way to go i plan on keeping it fish only and possibly an anemone(maby) since i am very new to saltwater what would be the next best filtration method after a sump

Get a canister filter and a HOB skimmer. I use two canister filters on my 75g.(Fluval 305 and 404) With that setup I am able to keep any type of coral and fish. I have live rock and filter floss in the chambers of the filters. I do weekly water changes of 5 gallons and dose alk and cal. The filters act as a sump. They hold about 5 gallons of water and I have amphipods and copepods growing in there. Here is a link to my setup in June 2010 before I moved.

. I have started over since then because I killed everything by leaving it in buckets for two days during the move. Here is my setup now.

+1 on canister. I've always done HOB until I discovered all in one nano tanks (like the biocube). I even did a "do it yourself" mod to a five gallon to create three back compartments. I just hated how the HOB looked. My biocube wan't handling the bioload like I wanted so I bought a canister filter (mostly cause it was on clearance at petsmart for $48 - hurry and check - I just saw this same filter at Petco for $129 -Ehein 35 gal). The canister is awesome! Brought all my levels to zero and adds great flow to the tank. Plus it's small enough to fit in the stand.

Remember Petsmart - check clearance - I think they had the Ehein 65 for $58