New to Saltwater, almost setup...

RobR

Another saltwater newbie here, and lots of questions. Got most of the stuff that I need and just a few more items to go before I fill the tank up for the first time!!!

Starting out with a 55 gallon, wih a 20 long sump.

75 # of dry rock, and 30 # of tropic eden reefflakes.

For now gonna start out as a fish only but hope to upgrade to corals later in the year. Want to go mixed reef with sps (hopefully some acros), and some lps.

No protein skimmer right now, but I am looking at the SWC skimmers.

So here are the questions that I hope y'all can help me with:

1. read a lot about salt mixes, and I want to start this off right. Any particular recommendations on salt mixes that aren't to expensive? Would like to use the TM bio actif, but it is so expensive and I have had a hard time finding it. Any thoughts on regular TM, Brightwell, IO, RC, or Red sea?

2. As for skimmers I have read good things about the SWC and was wondering which one to go with for a 55. The 120 or 160? anyone have experinece with these skimmers?

3. Will 75# of rock be enough? I was thinking of going with another 10# in the DT, and already have 10 # of rubble in the sump.

4. Lighting- I guess for acros lighting will be a concern. Will acros do okay under T5's or do they need MH? I would prefer T5 as they seem more affordable, but don't want to limit myself. I was looking at some of the 4 and 6 bulb models from Aqauticlife, sunlight supply and ATI, but with a 55 it kinda limits space.

Thanks for your help.

Rob

Welcome!

1. Just about any salt mix will be fine, some more fine than others. I think there was a thread in the Reefkeeping forum about what everyone is using. Edit: link to thread: http://www.austinreefclub.com/topic/12940-what-salt-and-why/page__p__89350__hl__salt__fromsearch__1#entry89350