Noob in South Austin

chirohorn

I've been keeping freshwater tanks for almost 20 yrs now & currently have a 240 gallon FW community tank. While touring a LFS, the girlfriend fell in love w/the colors of a reef setup. So I've decided to convert the 92 gallon corner tank into a reef ready setup. It's been sitting in the garage for a while & deserves better. I recently got a good deal on a 75 gallon DAS tank & 100# of LR off craigslist. It's got a built-in combo overflow/filter/skimmer unit.

My plan is to gently remove the combo unit & use GE sealant to afix it to the 92 gallon. I also plan to make a trip to the coast to get a cooler full of sand or crushed oyster shells. I'm still doing my homework on properly setting up the 1st SW tank. Know anyone that'll transfer the combo unit for me for a fee? I'd rather pay than procrastinate on the project. See the attached project tank.

post-623-12651622982_thumb.jpg

WELCOME. You are entering the world of the addicted reefers.

Always read before you jump. Prior to setting up your tank, get a general idea of what you want in it. Your biotheme will determine intensity of lights and circulation rates. I'll send some links to give you some thoughts. When you mentioned picking up sand from the coast what did you have in mind. While I have started tanks with a Texas Gulf Coast biotheme, there are easier ways to innoculate the tank than with sand from the coast.

Patrick

Wayne,

Some of the strongest toxins on the planet are manufactured by cynobacteria in many different aquatic enviroments.