Newbie here

Paula

Hey all,

At the end of July I needed to move my business office. I decided that as part of the move I wanted to start a marine aquarium (I've had both African cichlid and planted tanks but never a salt water. Having the tank in my office let's me deduct it as an office expense.)

So since then I have been researching, building, assembling, and finally starting to add actual denizens of the deep.

My setup is a 75 gallon DT with a 29 gallon sump. I'm using an Apex Classic to control, a Bean Animal overflow and DIY ATO. Lighting is supplied by two black box Chinese LEDs. I have a 100 lbs of dry rock that I am seeding with about 5 lbs of live rock. The rock has been seeding since mid August.

I finally filled the tank three weeks ago using the water that had been cycled with the rock. My parameters have all been steady after initial cycling with the exception of DkH. I have since started daily dosing off NaHCO3 to bring it up.

On the 26th of September, I added the first inhabitants, two mithrax crabs and three hermits. I also added a fistful of Chaeto to the refugium. On Wednesday, I added 5 additional hermits.

I'm hoping to be able to add my first zoanthid frags next week.

Whew!

Cheers,

Paula

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Thanks for the warm welcome guys! Wow Bobcat Reefer. Your tank looks great. I can only hope mine is half that beautiful in a year!

So I got my ATO finished today. Works like a champ. 

Here a pic of the tank and sump. Looking a little sparse at this point. 

More to come!

Paula

Tank.jpg

I have a set over my frag tank, i know ty has like 4 over his frag tank :)   so, when ty the farmerguy uses em, you know they ok.   i put electrical tape over the red/green leds.   What i dont like is that you cant make them... controllable.  I actually picked up a second one to try and hack a 0-10v dimmer on it,  just need to find the time!