What rock is good rock?

Dustin

Hey everybody!

I'm new to Marine tanks, so I have a silly question pertaining to aquascaping and what rocks can and cannot be used. I live next to a large quarry, so my selection of different natural rocks of all shapes, sizes, thicknesses ect is endless. I'm not planning on going with LR or Coral initially, though I may build up a reef with my next tank. The question I have is whether a thorough soaking (48hrs) scrubbing, bleaching, and de-chorination treatment (let sit for 24hrs) is enough to prepare the rock for the tank? Or does the rock need to be cured?

Dustin

I'm just not sure that I have the money or time to commit to maintaining a live rock system. I'm new to saltwater fish keeping so please correct me if I'm wrong. But I think I have just enough filtration to maintain it. I have 2 Magnum 350 canister filters (Rated to 100gal) , one with the Pro series 60 dual Bio-wheels. And I have a prizm delux protien skimmer (Rated up to 90 gal). So I think the filtration should be able to handle it. But I'm not sure what more it takes to maintain the live rock tank. In addition, I was looking at a juvinile lionfish, and maybe tangs + triggers and from what I understand triggers will pick at liverock and coral right?

Dustin, you can use live rock no problem, http://www.drsfostersmith.com/pic/article.cfm?aid=668 its what is known as a FOWLR tank. You can use limestone for the majority of your rock, but get a few pieces of real porous live rock to seed your bacteria and bio diversity. Then your limestone rock will become "semi-live" rock over time. I say this because the limestone rock will only really have good bacteria on the surface as it is so dense. You can make the lime stone rock better by drilling holes in it. Put lots of little holes in the back of it with a masinary bit. Remember, don't add your fish all at once.

Edited by barderer