how do you figure out your lighting needs?

underwatermonsters

I have a 125 gallons long tank and would like to know what is the best type of lighting i should get. I would like to have hard and soft corals but I'm not sure if they would cohab with each other.

I've read that the correct way to measure a lights intensity is by lumens or lux. I've also heard from other aquarist that the lighting for a reef tank should be around at least 2-3 times the number of gallons you have in watts. So which is it? Should I go by the amount of lumens or Watts.

If anyone can point me in the right way thanks.

I am by no means a lighting expert, but I also have a 125 (6'). I am using 3 250w SE MH bulbs. I am growing soft, LPS and SPS. I find the hardest part about keeping all 3 is getting enough flow for the SPS without blowing away the others.

I'd go with what GK is saying.

75g with 2x250w 14k Phoenix and 200w 20K power compact supplemental for color.

For a mixed tank I'd say the 18" rule for a 250w bulb would be good to follow. So the idea that 3 bulbs would each throw out about 18" of good intense lighting would be ideal for a 125.

I prefer using PC or T5 lighting to accent my halides. I like having them come on before the MH and stay on after the MH go out to help prevent sudden light shock. Also I think it's asking a bit much of one bulb to make you happy with growth, color, etc...