Controller

jsr

I am itching to buy an entry level controller for the tank. All I want is something that controls lights, temp, and some additional outlets for fans and such. I don't want to spend too much on this. In your opinion, is the AquaController or Reefkeeper better? It MUST work with IceCap ballast as well. What are some of the other features I would really want to control? I don't have a calcium reactor (drip Kalk w/ ATO) so a Ph probe may not be needed. Am I missing anything? Are they a PITA to program, or do they come ready to use? I have seen the charts that compare different models but I really want some personal feedback on which is better.

James

I bought my RKII based upon the fact that the letters are blue. I hope that helps.

But then I went to Kingfish one afternoon to take a better look at the unit as they were the only shops locally selling them and decided it was the unit I wanted. I'm not very good with programming things (I get excited when I figure out how to change the size of the text in a forum) and felt that the RKII was beyond simple to make changes to. Years later I've still not opened the boxes they came in, long story. However I have helped set up many used tanks and the RKII has always been a breeze. A friend bought a tank once with an older octopus 3000 or something like that. The manual was as thick as a phone book and twice as complicated. He ended up just timing how long the lights stayed on for and then picked a time in the afternoon to plug it all back in so that the light was on his schedule. He now uses an RKII on another tank.