My Sticks Need a Haircut

Wade

My hair algae seems to be under control for the most part which is good. However, where it's out of control in in my birdsnest. It's completely engulfed it and if I use a brush to clean most of it out, it comes back within the next week because the hermits just won't venture in there. The only polyps left are on the few points sticking out of the top. Is it better at this point to just frag those tips and discard the rest? I've been battling the algae on this colony for several months. I hate to lose it (it's about a six inch round colony), but I'm not sure there's any other way at this point.

Suggestions?

Following...my GSP has hair algae. I pull it (what i think is all of it) off but it grows right back. frustrating... I cant remove it either.. its growing on a base rock...angry.png

In my opinion, if it gets that bad, it's probably time to frag off the tips or wherever there are still healthy tissue/polyps. It stinks, but it'll save you a lot of time and frustration.

Do you have a picture? If the algae is growing on the rock and rising up through the colony, then you can save the coral by addressing the algae problem. If the tissue has receded and the algae is growing directly on the skeleton, then the algae will eventually choke out the coral. Fragging a piece might prevent a total loss if the colony can't be saved in time.

You could also use a peroxide dip to remove the algae. A 50/50 mixture of peroxide and tank water, for 1-2 minutes will kill the algae. If you need to, then you can do a follow-up dip in a week.

The colony is sitting on a rock, but is not attached. The algae is only on the coral skeleton. I believe there is tissue loss, but the peroxide dip is worth a shot if it won't hurt the healthy tips. Thanks all for your advice.

• Like 1