Coral buddies.

FluxCapacitor

So, I'm still fairly new to this hobby and I've already run into 2 snags concerning which corals can hang out next to one another. Can we get a list of experiences from people of what corals are ok to put together and which are not. I can start off.

Lobo > Duncan

Richrodia Yuma > Acan Lord

The guys on the left killed the guys on the right. There's no major damage to my tank but those are the two coral fights I've seen already. As far as friends go:

Zoas, Yumas, and GSP are living together happily on one of my rocks.

Acans seem to get along fine with the Fungia plate.

The two torches I have occupy a close proximity on the same rock and don't attack eachother although I was warned that some frog spawns or hammers may attack torches.

Anyway, I'm aquascaping my bigger aquarium and want to plan out what corals can go where. This is going to be a mixed reef so I will need to make spaces for the aggressive corals to not be next to the more expensive non agressive ones. I hope to learn from you all's experience so post up your stories if you have them please.

I've had by my wild guesstimate, probably over 200+ different types of coral at one point or another over the last 12 years. It would take a month to write down all the interactions, which is why I haven't responded.

In general, I just don't let any touch if possible. crab.gif Oh, and nothing beats a hydnophora. shifty.gif

The proximity is different for every coral because they have different length sweepers. Some corals can touch. I've never had a problem putting acans next to acan or euphyllia next to euphyllia. Same with mushrooms/ricordea.

Its best practice to keep palys and zoas separated. Its also a good idea not to them to touch other species. Zoas like Mohawks can kill others.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk 2

Most sps don't like to touch. Like Ty has said no touching your neighbors or I'll cut your arms off.