The hell of a tank move

Kaplanm

This is my first time every having to move a reef tank. I've a 60 gallon bow front, with about 80lbs of rock, 60lbs of sand, and an assortment of inverts and fish. I'm wondering what's the best way to move this beast? Is it something I should do myself, or is it worth calling up one of the local fish stores who do aquarium moves and have them do it?

Almost all of my rock work is simply pressure fit. I have no idea how I'll manage to get it back in the same way that it is now, but I can probably get close enough.

What is the long term damage to the ecology in the tank? Should I let stuff re-cure in the tank once I move it and keep the fish separated?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

If you're just moving it to a different spot in the house you can just get some tubs to put the rock / water / sand / coral / fish in. Move the tank and fill it back up. This shouldn't cause any issues. That's basically what i did when I move to a new apartment last month (South Round Rock to North Round Rock) and had no issues at all and didn't lose a single coral. I did make some extra water and rinsed the sand a bit because once you put it in and start adding water it'll stir up the detritus.

Ah...I used two 35g brute trash cans and filled them about half full of water and added the rock. I have a 50g cube. I used some 5g buckets too for the rocks that didn't fit in the trash cans and the sand...all filled with water too. I bought a bunch of teh cheap HEB tupperware type containers to transport the corals in and stacked those in styofoam boxes that LFS's get fish deliveries in. you're more than welcome to borrow the trash cans and styofoam boxes.

I may just take you up on that. We're probably moving in the 3rd week of April, so there is plenty of time for me to come up with a battle plan. I just wanted to see what other peoples experiences were moving tanks from house to house.