Automobile diagnostics

subsea

My 1999 Camray overheated and stranded me on MoPac. No worries, Mike Frame to the rescue. Thank you for getting me off the highway Friday afternoon.

I need a little troubleshooting direction. Engine overheated because of low water in radiator. When trying to start engine, at this time, it seems to be tuning over much faster then normal. No attempt at ignition. Would a broken timing belt prevent valves from opening and consequently no compression in piston chambers? I was looking for a way to remove valve covers to observe operation of cam shaft. My day laborer has put on his mechanic cap and we are working on it.

Patrick

What does the oil look like? Milky? Why did you get low water. When did you last replace your radiator cap? Without seeing it its hard to tell and I'm not familiar with toyotas. But not sure why the timing belt would make the car over heat. Does it start? And run? Theres a few things I would look at. But I'm not a professional mechanic but I do work on a lot of cars (just my bum family).

Well since its cranking over faster than normal leads me to believe its got a dead cylinder. Good ole aluminum heads and cast iron block....scrubbing effect on the head gasket due to different heat exhange rates of the two materials and rapid cooling/heating due to low coolant level.

The engine overheated because of .5 gallon low on water in radiator. Cap is new. Engine has 220K miles and I am not to concerned about how the water got low in the radiator. I bought the car new.