My Screw-Up and Near Disaster (TMC AquaRay LEDs)

Wow, yesterday evening was crazy for me and could've ended badly. This post isn't a question about a brand-name piece of equipment, but it is about me abusing one and how it held up.

I use Tropical Marine Centre (TMC) AquaRay LEDs that I purchased from American Aquarium Products. I did that before I found Reef Central or ARC and didn't know much. Well, I know LEDs pretty well, since I'm an Optoelectronic Engineer by profession, just not PAR/PUR/etc. The guy at AAP has some informative articles that seemed knowledgeable and reasonable, so I went with the more expensive, proven products that he is selling. Now that I know better and realize all the money (ALL the money) I would need to spend after the lights, I could have gone cheaper or DIY. That said, I have no complaints with either AAP or TMC, especially after yesterday’s events.

Some background information, here is TMC's recommended LED layout for a 6' full reef (including SPS) tank:

AquaRayLighting_Recommended.jpg

I have a wide center brace in the middle of the aquarium, so having the fifth, middle LED square would be a big waste (I wish the brace wasn't there, maybe the Prof can rig something up for me?). Anyway, here's what I actually have.

AquaRayLighting_Current.jpg

You may notice the oddball 1000 HD Ultra Marine White square right of center. I screwed up and ordered the wrong one. I figured I could upgrade to 5 in the future, so I've left and place my livestock accordingly. TMC's recommended layout for up to softies has no 1500 XG Ultima LEDs, so it's been great for me so far. It also happens to be the one I tried to blow up yesterday.

My lights are in a custom wooden shroud, but I haven't mounted or hung it from the wall, yet. It's still sitting on 2x4s. So I need to just push it back to feed or stick my hand in and then pull it back into position. It works well enough (and doesn't look as bad as it reads) to allow me to procrastinate the mounting.