Green Hair Algae

dweyant

Ok,

I've been fighting with Green Hair Algae for a couple months now. Tried taking a toothbrush to it a few times, but it keeps coming back. Added a bunch of snails, a starfish.

Any suggestions on how to get rid of it?

Thanks,

-Dan

Here is the method I am using, and have used in the past, to help reduce it.

Changed RODI filters.

Reduce feedings, avoid flake/pellets.

Manual removal. I pluck it out by the fingerfull and/or pull a rock out and go over it well.

Phosphate reactor.

Increased water changes.

I'm of the opinion that my rock/sand has absorbed alot of phosphates and are releasing them back out so it's a bit of a battle.

Have you tried 3 days of darkness with the tank swathed in sheets or towels? It doesn't cost anything and it can't hurt. What have you got to lose? You might want to check your phospates.

I've had some luck with the 3 days of darkness method.

A multipronged approach seems to be best.

Pluck, darkness, pluck, big water change, phosphate reactor. Also, if you have a fuge/sump, grow some macro in there to help starve the display of phosphates.

Is it Ok to do the three days of darkness thing with fish in the tank? I.e. it won't hurt the fish?

I am feeding mostly flake right now, what do you suggest instead of flake? I feed brine a couple times a week, but I know it isn't enough by itself (right?).

-Dan

I feel your pain but there is a very simple quick and cheap fix that doesn't require much effort on your part at all. Get a bottle of API Marine Algae Fix and follow the dirrections. Two weeks you'll be G.H.A. free! Make sure to remove carbon if running, the directions don't mention it but you need to.

This product works and is safe for everything in your tank except any green nusiance algae. It even kills bryopsis