Starting My First Tank

ChrisPeavey

So, I am completely new to this and want to start out right. I am not looking to rush and realize that this will take some time and I need to be patient. That being said, I need some advice and pointers. I have a 55 gallon tank and want to get it started with just the basics. I have my heater (200watt) and a filter of suitable size. I was going to go ahead and order some salt to mix my water, some live sand and some rock. Is there anything else I am missing just to get started. I know a protein skimmer and those types of things are good to have and will add that later. I just need advice on getting it going. Thanks.

Are you going to be doing a reef tank or fish only? If it's a reef tank, you will eventually need some good lights. There are a ton of options so you may need to research what suits your budget and needs. When you mix your water, you will want to use RODI water.

Are you going to be doing a reef tank or fish only? If it's a reef tank, you will eventually need some good lights. There are a ton of options so you may need to research what suits your budget and needs. When you mix your water, you will want to use RODI water.

I am wanting to eventually make it a reef tank. I have been looking at lights but was told I could wait on that if all I was doing was the rock and sand to get it started.

Got a picture of your current equipment? Is the 55-gallon drilled? Will you be using a sump? The filter you mention, what type is it?

The filter is a hang on and is an Aqueon 55/75. No the tank is not drilled and its shorter than a previous 55 I had. As far as a sump, I was thinking of adding that later.

You can certainly add the lights later. Just put that into the plan.

If you are going to add a sump, and the tank is currently empty, it would really be worth taking the time to drill it now. That will save you a whole lot of heartburn later.

You can certainly add the lights later. Just put that into the plan.