Ready to add fish ??

Christyef

Hello all. I am brand new to this fascinating hobby..and this is my first post. I have had my 55 gal set up for 7 weeks. All my algae cycles are complete and my levels are good.i e had crabs and snails for about 2 weeks. All are doing well. I am ready to add fish! I'm asking for suggestions of hardy fish and coral bc to quite honest, I have no clue what I'm doing. ? I appreciate all of your help!

This is exciting! Have you thought at all about what type of tank you want to have? Like, do you want more aggressive type fish or peaceful? Is there any fish in particular you're really interested in? You might want to consider some maintenance fish, like a springer's damsel and a foxface (I think that size tank is big enough for a foxface). It's worth it to look at the bigger picture before you start stocking because fish are hard to remove.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

For me, it's easier to decide what types of corals I want and then match the fish than the other way around. Many fish need specific planning in order to keep them successfully because they either eat corals or need a specific environment. After that you need to decide if you want a peaceful tank, semi-aggressive or aggressive tank.

Most wrasses are hardy and a great choice because most will eat anything, but they need at least 3" of sand to bury in. If you don't have that much sand the you can still get some cocoon wrasses.

Some dwarf angels are a good choice. IMO the Flame, Coral Beauty, and Rusty are the safest choices, but you can't keep more than one in that tank. If you don't care too much about whether they nip corals then others are great as well. I would research it further based on your risk tolerance.