Led vs. T5

CJohnson

So I have been contemplating this for a few months now and I decided I want to get rid of my BIG UGLY MH because I got tired of replacing bulbs. But I am stuck between metal halides and T5s. I know I will have to replace bulbs on the T5 fixture but It seems like a cheaper option than going led. The Ocean Revive s026 is my first option but I don't want to hang it from the ceiling and a Kessil seems pretty expensive with limited customization. So are there any other mounting options for an ocean revive? Do you recommend a good T5 fixture for a 60g cube that I don't have to hang?

I personally can't stand changing bulbs so I went with an led fixture, I have an aqua illuminations fixture and love it. If you are concerned about price have you looked into a diy led fixture I know that rapid led sells everything you could possibly need to make a fixture and if soldering is not your thing they make solderless kits. However that being said if you really want t5s I have heard really good things about ati fixtures and believe that they have some that don't have to hang.

What would be the correct wattage for a T5 to work on a 60g cube for all coral types (Sps, lps, softies) I am getting mixed answers. I have a 250w metal halide on mine right now. If I was to get an ocean revive s026 could I just get one for a 60g cube?

I think either of those lights in your previous 2 posts would be good. Not sure if the t5 light comes with bulbs so if it doesn't don't forget to add that to cost when comparing.

I think either of those lights in your previous 2 posts would be good. Not sure if the t5 light comes with bulbs so if it doesn't don't forget to add that to cost when comparing.

Thanks for the advice! I have been looking at bulb combinations, it's never ending!

Get the new Ocean Revive T247-B. It's on sale right now and has digital lighting control instead of the manual switch knobs like the S026 (great because it's only one AC plug instead of 2).