BornToHula's 75 Gallon Tank Improvement Thread

BornToHula

This isn’t necessarily a build thread – more of an “I want to fix/improve my tank” thread.

I am new to reef tanks in general, but I have learned a lot since got my tank last May - my complete setup was originally purchased from a member here on ARC who was exiting the hobby.

The tank has worked great so far, but a few things are either breaking down or are not performing the way I think they should, so I decided to start a thread to both show off my tank some and also get some advice on getting the tank looking the way I want it.

Here is how the tank was a couple months ago, I'll be taking new pictures soon.

6iYXCpF.jpg

The Basics

It’s a standard 75g tank with a 20g-long sump.

3 48” Build My LEDs 12K & 14K spectrums and a Super Actinic

MP40 and MP10 powerheads

2 Tunze powerheads (not sure on the model)

Reef Octopus XS160 skimmer

BRS dual chamber reactor running GFO and Carbon

Tunze ATO system (currently not working)

Neptune Apex

BRS dosing pumps (still need to set these up)

Livestock

Pair of Clownfish

Blue Chromis

Kole Tang

Pink spotted watchman goby and pistol shrimp pair

Red Velvet Wrasse

Black Cap Basslet

2 peppermint shrimp

Fire shrimp

2 red bubble tip anemones

2 green bubble tip anemones

Maxima Clam

4rKUUKZ.jpg

Corals

I need to start writing down the names of these when I buy them, I forget what almost all of these are called. Once I get the tank running how I want it, I’ll be adding lots more stuff.

Green Star Polyp

Various acro frags

Some bird’s nest (I think??)

Two types of acans

4 Different types of Zoas

Frog Spawn

Reverse Superman montipora

Shelf Montipora

bK0fzwF.jpg

zDAkHX1.jpg

fNHsSI8.jpg

Things that I need to work on (and what this thread will be about!)

· Cyano Bacteria has been a constant problem since I got the tank – I need to find the cause and correct it