Port Aransas Jetties

I am completely new to saltwater aquariums (fishwater for the longest time). My close cousins teach aquatic science at Tuloso Midway ISD. So I call them everyday with questions.

I went out to the south jetties a few weeks ago and brought much some good stuff.

At least 30-40 Peppermint Shrimp (wait until night scoop the rocks you can find them with a flash light)

what is crazy is the price these sell for at your LFS.

10 Seaweed Blennys (took some time to identify) the have some red branchi on their head.

I've kept about 3-4 and taken the rest to Aquadome

I had found a decorator crab he died the first day back and was eaten

Also beware I saw a smallish tan crab later identified as a juvi blue crab (swimming). I didnt do my research and I saw this guy holding my watchmen gobys head and eating it. He went to aquadome the next day. I've since replaced him with a pink spot goby

There were 2 black crab which my cousins believe are Sally Light Foot (there not the brightly colored ones)

Some Ulva came back

I brought a at least 50 pound live rock covered in rock anemones (blues, reds, blue/reds) those are doing good the peppermint have been feasting on most of them.

Point to take I was so eager and anxious I didnt do my research beforehand on what I caught. I rushed the process by throwing everyone in and overloading my bioload. My nitrates and phospates went through the roof. No one died from the overload, although It got expensive do water changes and mixing salt. I also cured the live rock poorly. I took it out again and cleaned it and so much brown came off of it.

So I lucked out and only lost a Watchmen Goby (20 bucks and my favorite fish) but it could have been alot worse. Learn from me I just added some microalgae in the hopes it can lower the nitrates.

Very Respectfully, Drew Mendez 150 Gallon Straight Back Hex with a Eheim. 2 Ballasts of T-8's Actinic, Ocean Sun, Coral Sun, Plant Growth.