Reefing the Pentagon???

SirReal63

My name is Jack and I have been a memeber of ARC for a few years now. I have lived in many places since 2007 but just moved from San Antonio to Marble Falls. (actually Meadowlakes, but close enough) I am not usually much of a fan of build threads so I will keep it as simple as possible. No megabuck equipment, no anal retentive needs to perfectly hide and route each individual wire, no custom made sump with tons of un-needed equipment, just a simple basic reef set up the way I have been doing it for almost 9 years now. No offense to anyone who is anal or a compulsive reef shopper, just a warning that you will not find that stuff here. I am old and change very slowly. :-) This thread is a compilation of the past few years, if you are members of MAAST then you have seen some of this before. This tank has been moved three times while in my possession, this is the last time unless we decide to add onto the house, which I do not see happening, we just moved out of our 3000 sq ft house to a much smaller 1800 sq ft house because we did not need that much house, it is just the two of us and our 5 animals and one small aquarium. biggrin.png

Let's do a little ground work...

The 110 gallon DSA Pentagon (with 20 gallons in the sump), 40x40x25x19x25, 17" tall and 1/2" glass.

I am still playing with the white balance on camera, so don't beat me up on the photography. You would be amazed at how much different my Fuji S6000 reads the Phoenix as opposed to the Radium as opposed to natural sunlight.

Step one...drill a hole for the Glass-Holes overflow. It took a while, but I did it with no surprises.

IMAG0122.jpg

A stand is needed, and since this tank did not come with one, I had to make one. Armed with nothing more than a miter box saw, jigsaw and drills.

110Pentagon-1.jpg

That wasn't so hard, the top isn't covered as the tank has a rim on the bottom.

The tank is resting on the stand now....time for some plumbing and leveling.