How often does your chiller turn on???

Inland Reef

How often does your chiller turn on in the middle of the day, with all lights on?

I'm wondering if mine turns on way too often. It's running probably 5-10x within an hour. I haven't logged it exactly.

I've always had T5's over my tanks, and have never had heat issues that required a chiller, so this is my first time running one.

I recently acquired a BC29 with a 150w HQI & chiller (Aqua Chill 1/10).

I've got the normal circulation pump in chamber 3, and the chiller pump (Rio 1200) in chamber2. The water return is on the right side, which is where the overflow is, but the return is mid way toward the front of the tank and blowing across the tank.

All fittings are tight, so it's getting the best circulation the Rio can put out. The flow rating on the Rio is 295gph, which the chiller owners manual states that it's adequate.

No other pumps in the tank.

Only running the 150w HQI and two LED stunner strips.

Room temp is 76-77deg

The chiller temp is set to 78deg.

The differential is set at +- 2deg.

I have a regular thermometer in the tank and the chiller temp seems to be pretty close to it. Maybe +1 degree or so.

This is also my first open top aquarium. It was putting off so much humidity into the room that it was raising the room temp by 2deg, so I had a glass top cut for it. The rear filter chamber is still open.

Even before I put the glass top on, it was turning on about as frequently.

When it does turn on, it cools the temp down within 2min or so.

So, does this sound somewhat normal? Is it turning on excessively?

Do I have it placed/setup incorrectly?

Any thoughts or suggestions would be great.