Condylactis question, help please!

jbharlan91

I'm very new to saltwater aquariums, and to the reef club forum. An awesome friend of mine gave me a 29 gallon BioCube, already set up, for my birthday a couple of weeks ago (it is a used aquarium, had been running I think approximately a year). We were very ecstatic and jumped right in (probably before we did enough research, but we were somewhat cautious). I got a condylactis anemone, and at first it seemed very normal for what I know about anemones. Now however, he keeps deflating and pulling his tentacles in, and when I got home from work today and looked at him, some of his tentacles are starting to look like they're pinching off towards the top (he's still somewhat deflated and has pulled himself farther back into the rock). Is this "pinching" normal? He hasn't moved much since he planted himself between a couple of rocks, and he has eaten when we tried to give him a piece of shrimp.

The only water parameter I know right now is the salinity, it's 1.026 (other testing strips and a thermometer are ordered but not here yet), but since my friend set everything up for me very recently I'm fairly confident that the water is good.

Thanks for any help!

I read that too, but haven't seen any fish going near him. He's pulled himself just about completely underneath a rock.

That's how my Green Bubble Tip was about the first week I had him. He was just all mad about being moved. As long as it's eating and not getting bleached out (losing it's color) I'd say you're doing ok from what I've read. It'd be nice to see some parameters for your tank, but your testing gear isn't here just yet.

Oh yeah, but thanks for the info - mr. elite reefer! I'm just a guppy...biggrin.gifHow's Livi??

She's covered in rashy stuff.. otherwise in good spirits.

As far as Elite Reefer goes, it should just say "jibber jabber", I do too much talkin and not enough learnin.

Yeah mr. jibber jabber, seems like you've learned quite a bit!