Tang Stocking

FarmerTy

Hi ARC,

I have an potential issue with stocking levels in my tank and wanted to get a general consensus. I'm new to fish but old to corals.

So currently I have a 125-gallon, 6' long tank which I read is the minimum size tank for a Desjardini sailfin. I currently got two beautiful tangs from Hydro (aka Stephen) which never showed aggression towards each other in his large tank (200 gallons plus, sorry, I forget the size). Now, in my 125-gallon, the 6" sailfin is def showing aggression to the 4" yellow tang. The yellow comes out every once in awhile but usually doesn't stick around long as the sailfin will immediately come up and try to intimidate it. The yellow doesn't always run but to say they are friends, is over exaggerating. The yellow seems skittish anyways because he runs even when I approach the tank but the sailfin just ends up following me around, even swimming by my hand even as I move coral around.

So, questions are:

1) Will they eventually seek a balance and stop being aggressive once they settle in (they are both new to the tank, about a week now)?

2) Will the addition of smaller fishes (clowns, wrasses, etc.) make both a little more easy in the tank and less focused on yellow versus sailfin? They are the only two fishes in there right now.

My hypothesis is that since the sailfin is the larger of the two, and also the more dominant. He is projecting himself on the yellow in a new environment. And with only the yellow to focus on, it's his mission to let him and only him know who's boss in the tank. With other fish (non-competitive), he will be a little more distracted and realize the tank is to share.