Phosban Reactor and UV sterilizer

FarmerTy

Mark the day, I've finally bowed to the pressures of all my non-reefing friends that always ask me where are the fish in my coral tank. So, I'm relatively new to this game, minus your small gobies and such that have a very small biological footprint but I've been keeping corals since 2004. So, what I want to know from the brain trust at ARC is if you use a phosban reactor or not and your experiences with it. I will probably have a number of tangs, hawkfish, clownfish, and anthias... obviously added slowly. Minus the tangs, I'll put them all in at the same time to avoid fighting.

I figure with the sloppy eating and the generous amounts of food needed for livestock (versus coral) that I would need some type of supplementation for removing wastes. I currently have a skimmer and a refugium set up in the sump as part of my waste removal system and the standard 2-week water changes on my 125-gallon tank.

Also, I've heard that UV sterilizers can help minimize pests/parasites in a tank system. I have never had to deal with that much since I really never had fish. I saw a good topic on it on ARC about sterilizers the other day. For those that keep a pretty large population in their tanks, do you use a UV sterilizer too? Thanks in advance for any input.

-Ty

Ty,

Keep in min the ammout you will have to feed your Anthias school per day(minimum of 3) due to their high metabolism!

The UV sterilizer will help with any Ich, or parasite outbreak. I don't run one, but everyone I know that does swears by it. Also keep in mind how sensitive tangs are-they are prone to get Ich much easier than other fish. So a UV sterilizer would help.