Another FNG

Goodfuga

Well i am an (F-ing New Guy) FNG to the site and figured I would say hello. I am a Marine Biology Major at UT and served in the Coast Guard for six years. Been interested most of my life in reef habitats and ecology but was never able to keep a reef tank because of the constant travel that comes from serving ones country. Once i got out i was a poor college student so I did not have any money to start one then either. Now finnaly I am in a postion to finnaly take up a long wanted hobby and have just finished setting up a begginer 70 gal(36x18x25) reef tank. I built the tank stand myself and all the plumbing which i am very proud off. i know there are tons of people out there who have done the same and have done way more complicated setups than me, however being a newbie to the hobby and this beeing my first set-up, I feel very proud of the progress thusfar. I am planning on starting a thread to chronicle my journey into the reef tank hobby so look for it. I cant even begin to express how helpful others out there who have done similar things with their systems have helped me in designing and working bugs out of my setup. I am posting a picture of my setup thus far so otheres can see where i am at. I have a 70 gal tank with a sump/refugium for filtration, 130 lbs of LR (Half fiji, half carribean), Aquaticlife T5 6x36W with built in timer and lunar lights, Mag 9.5 pump running everything. Tank has been up and running for about a week now. Ammonia levels have spiked and returned to < .2 and I am just waiting for my Nitrate levels to fall. Nitrite has been zero for a few days. Hopefully i can start adding some cleaner critters this week. post-1681-0-14339600-1289845666_thumb.jp Let me know what you think.