evaporative cooling - expected daily water loss?

Mad Reefer

Hi ,

I'm new to the hobby and purchased a complete system last week. I'm running 75gallon tank with a 20gal sump. I have 2x 54w T5 actinics and 250W MH. I'm running a 1/10 hp chiller and 2 small fans in the hood. I'm seeing about 4gal a day water loss and I'm wondering if that is in the normal range?

The fans only run when the lights are on. The chiller is available to run 24/7 but only clicks on occasionally at night.. Temp is set to 77. I am not seeing any water loss at night (i have to verify this by drawing a line)

Thanks,

-Madness

Hmm, I lose about two gallons a day in my 185. I do not have fans in my canopy or a chiller. The fans are probably what is causing any excessive water loss. How hot does your tank get if you turn off the fans?

What's really odd is that you say your chiller is set to 77 and it rarely kicks on, which leads me to believe the tank doesn't get hot enough to justify a 4 gallon/day loss.

If it does get that hot, you have some extremely effective fans.

how hot do you keep your A/C?

are the fans pointed directly at the water?

Have you checked for a leak?

How much does your skimmer pull out per day?

Do you do water changes while you sleep walk?

What's really odd is that you say your chiller is set to 77 and it rarely kicks on, which leads me to believe the tank doesn't get hot enough to justify a 4 gallon/day loss.

If it does get that hot, you have some extremely effective fans.

I agree..that seems odd that your chiller rarely kicks on.

And 4 gallons/day water loss sounds like a lot.

Do your fans run when the lights are on, like you have them on the same timer? If so, that can lead to high water loss.

In my 90G, I lose little less than 2 gal/day, run no chiller, and only have my fans come on when the temp gets above 77.8. If my fans were always on when my lights were on, then:

1.) I'd be wasting some electricity as until my halides kick on, I don't need my fans on