Adding Clownfishs

TheKipf

Hey guys and gals,

My name is Greg, and I'm pretty new to the salt water aquarium scene. I've been trolling the forums for a long while (most the trade / sell forums to get this tank going!) but haven't really done a whole lot of posting. However, I have to say I really enjoy the community here at ARC!

I have a 75g tank, with about 100lbs (or 115ish) of LR, with about a 2 - 2 1/2 inch sugar sand bed. I have one huge specimen of frogspawn coral (about 11 heads of it!) -- and a big ol' coral, which was sold to me as hammer coral (about 8 heads) but I have my doubts if it really is a hammer coral or some kind of torch coral. I also have a good colony of GSP, and some other little button polyps. 2 Green Chromis (sorry 'lefty' - who was my 3rd Chromis - that you had to be the way I found out my huge Green Emerald Crab had a huge Green Emerald Appetite), and 1 very small yellow tang.

But to the question!

I really want to add 2 clownfish to my set up but I don't think this will come any time soon, as I'm letting my tank catch up to the recent bio-load additions. However, I would really like to add 1 Black & White Ocellaris Clown, and then one standard False Perc Ocellaris Clown. In some reading, I found that the black & white ocellaris can coexhist with other clowns, but I wanted to see if anyone had any luck doing my above scenerio? Additionally, should I make sure to get two females? Or a Male / Female combination? Is there any precautions or special acclimation steps that I should in order to make sure I don't have Fish Fight Club when I introduce them to my tank?

Just looking for some expert input!

Thanks,

Greg

I have a pair of False Perc Ocellaris clowns and a pair of Black & White Ocellaris Clown in the same tank peacefully co-existing. I would purchase on large (will become the female) and one small fish (will become the male), then let nature take its course.