Lighting my 225

afgun

Hello. I'm relatively new to the Austin area. We had a 150 reef before we moved to Tejas, for about 9 months. We are putting together a new system, but I'm really stumped as to what to do for lighting...

It's a 30" deep tank, and 6' long. So I'm thinking a combination of 3 MH and some actinic CFLs or VHOs. We plan on keeping a wide variety of soft, LPS and SPS corals as well as some fish and other critters that belong in a reef.

There are more opinions out there than people, it seems.

Do you recommend 250 or 400W bulbs for a 30" deep tank with my mix of "stuff" ? What temperature ? And as for wattage of the actinic ?

Thanks!

--andrew

post-1093-12521600127274_thumb.jpg

for 30" deep, I'd go 400 to get the penetration to the bottom of the tank.

I've always been happy with 14K temp as it is a perfect combo of white and blue light. Everyone's tastes are different tho so you'll probably benefit from buying some used bulbs @ different temps and trying them out to see what you like. Since you are just starting your tank, it'd be a perfect time as you can switch out bulbs w/out worrying about how it might affect your corals.

For actinics, the general rule of thumb is 1 W of actinic for each W of MH. Personal tastes will dictate how much actinic supplementation you want.

Thanks. 400 is what I had been leaning towards.

What if I get crazy and instead of using 3x400@14k, I do 3x250@10k and 2x250@20k for a broader spectrum of light. Yes, this gets to be crazy expensive for ballasts and bulb replacement, but I'd like to ensure that I have a really good-viewing tank. Am I nuts? :)

Referencing this discussion http://www.reefland.com/forum/equipment-archives/3274-250-hqi-better-than-400-watt.html; obviously my tank is quite a bit smaller than that one...