cycling 110g

bstock

i have had a 30g aquarium for about 2 years and now i am starting a 110g i put live sand in it and some damsels fish in (5) my sand is turning brown and bubbles coming from it i don't know if i have enough stuff in my sump i have never used a sump before and was wondering what i need in there i have a skimmer in it right now it is a trigger TS36BR sump there is also a Refugium in it to what do i need in it

if some one could help me i would greatly appreciate it

If you can catch them it would be a good idea to take the fish out. There is a good chance they will die from the cycle and most people regret damsels later anyway. They can be very aggressive. Your tank can cycle with new live rock or a small piece of shrimp.

As for the refugium. You can put some live rock rubble in there and some macro algea to help reduce phospates and nitrates. They are also a great place to have your pods multiply. A heater on a controller would be a good idea as well.

I think damsels were recommended before people realized that the life on live rock is enough to establish the beneficial bacteria populations, which is sort of the point of cycling a tank. I don't know of any sources that recommend this any more, though. Damsels were recommended because they are hardier than most marine aquarium fish, but the cycle is unnecessarily hard on the fish and, as Gabriel pointed out, they tend to be aggressive as they get older.

You can get some live rock to add to the tank to move things along. The biggest thing in cycling a tank, though, is patience.

ej

thanks for the input.

but, what about what you put in the sump. if you put nothing in but the skimmer i don't understand how the system works. i know they work, but please explain how.

what about my sand turning brown with air bubbles coming out of it i have never had this happened before