new from san marcos

Esco

Whats going on people, im new to owning a saltwater tank i just recently set up a 55g with two blue damsels and a 3 stripe damsle, and a engineer goby, and a osc. clown. and a choc. starfish... but anyways the tank was running for two weeks with 5 lbs of live rock before i added any fish, but three weeks after stocking it i noticed some sort of brown stringy alge growing on the glass and rocks. all the params seem fine except for the water being really hard. what would cuase that? and how do i get rid of it?

cool, thanks. yea i figured it'd prolly be better to let time take its course. just wanted a second opinion, that was a pretty quick responce. if anyone know where to get about 20-50 lbs of live sand on the cheap around austin or san marcos, i need some.

yup, only 5lbs of live rock right now, down here it cost 10 dollars a lb at animal wonders. so yea, pretty pricey. i do have like 15 lbs of live sand, but i need alot more.

You can find LR online for $2-4lb. Heck, find some dead rock and throw it in your tank and let it get seeded by your live stuff. $10/lb is insane.

Edited by azcummins

$10 a lb is crazy. However, I have to tell you I am surprised any of your livestock is still alive. That is a lot of fish to add after only 2 weeks especially with that small amount of rock. I would watch your ammonia very closely and be ready to do water changes. As Mark said above Live rock can be had for much cheaper. Online or from other reefers here or on MAAST.org, or even some of the stores up here are around $6 if I remember correctly.

Hey welcome to the hobby. I figure I'd go ahead and say hi to ya.