What's the deal with purple Zoa's?

nvrEnuf

So, a year in I am still a noob, but not a complete one.

I have learned a ton since I inherited a stocked FOWLR and brought it home. Two moves and a new tank later and I feel like I am well on my way in the hobby.

I've learned to quarintine, do pre-imptive treatments, and how to ID most marine pests as well as how to react to them.

I feel confident in nitrate, phosphate, and general biomass accumulation, transport, and export in various methods as well as how choices in set-up and specifically substrate can affect them.

I have a mixed reef with everything from shrooms to stags and very rarely have loss without knowing why and coming up with a future preventative plan.

SOOOOOO, why the hell does every purple Zoa I buy die???

Experience one: The first two corals I bought were zoanthids, a maroon on green and a green on purple. The maroon on green is in my current tank and has gone from 4 polyps to more than I can count. The 5 purple polyps died within 2 weeks. slowly melted away as if they had ZEN's is more like it, despite searching for them, finding no egg cases, and dips for good measure. I chalked it up to lack of experience and knowledge. (no macro in tank)

Experiece two: original 29BC now 5 months into my possesion, multiple corals now in tank having never lost a single one other than the purple zoa. Torch and hammer growing, multiple zoa colonies doing great. I got another small colony of purple zoa's. This time red on purple. This time the exact smae thing; except it took 39 days for the colony to wither away. I tried multiple lighting and flow placement, dips, leaving it alone, examined for spiders, nud's, stars, snails, etc. (no macro in tank, now dipping when aquired)