DIY Reef Rock

Pailines

So i've combed through the web for reipies for DIY reef rock, more custom and more creative and less weight(when you make it right) than any rock work out there, including rocks from the ocean.

My problem right now is determining a recipies.

I found lists ranging from using corse salt and oyster shells for mediums, and while some use ice cubes some use silly puddys for negative spaces.

They have their pros and cons, but personally, i really hate the oyster shell methods, not only does it have sharp edges, it has anoix bubbles within the module of the rock work.

Not sure if anyone here has heard of any, i plan to try some of these recipies this weekend when i have the time.

P.S im a dental lab tech, i know a little about making molds and shaping with yada yada materials.

• 3 weeks later...

Sorry for the lack of following up on this, work has been doing a number on my mind.

But I tried different recopies i found, that has a possible 'nice' out come. I waited for them to fully cure and firm to handle before presenting.

I tried different ratios of just Concrete and Water Salt and will post picture of creations when i get some natural light first thing tomorrow morning.

#1 1:1 Concrete and Salt (Everything mixed together, encasing the salt)

#2 1:1 Concrete and Salt (Mixed the Concrete first, then gently pressed the salt onto the surface)

#3 2:1 Concrete and Salt (Everything mixed together, encasing the salt)

#4 2:1 Concrete and Salt (Mixed the Concrete first, then gently pressed the salt onto the surface)

#5 3:1 Concrete and Salt (Everything mixed together, encasing the salt)

#6 3:1 Concrete and Salt (Mixed the Concrete first, then gently pressed the salt onto the surface)

The reason i made two different batch with every ratio of mixes is due to the fact that using too much salt drives up the price/lb of rocks made, really quickly. Not to mention that if the rock develop micro cracks, the salt could leech into the water column.