new to austinreedclub....I need some advice!

generatorx

Hello everyone. Well I have been keeping freshwater fish for 4 years now and I am making that jump to salt. I am going to sell my whole setup and start new. here is what I am thinking about getting:

getting a 28gal bow front glass tank with protein skimmer(aquaC remora)/150w HQI(current USA sunpod)/ powerheads(brand?)/and lots of live rock

I would like a sump with a refugium but I am not sure how much that is going to cost or how nessasary it is for a tank this size.

I am also curious about hang on or in tank refugiums

any advice would be awesome. thanks everyone!

Welcome to the club and the hobby!

I would look into Maxi-jets or a Koralia 1 or 2 for that size tank. A sump/refugium is always a great idea if possible because it adds to your overall volume, meaning less swings in your parameters, and it gives you a place to put heaters, skimmers and other equip.

HTH.

Welcome to the school

what you need as far as filteration in my opinion is in my view dependant on what you want to do. if you only want to keep salt water fish, salt water invertabrates, corals, live rock etc. if it is your first time always concider what you want to keep.

if you just want fish and live rock you could get away with a much more simple filtration type, like hang on back or canister.

if you want to do plants like the macro algea and sea grass then go for deep sand bed and lights.

if you want corals etc that is when you need to go high tech. powerful lights, top level filtration like the refugiums etc

unless your going for the corals, clams, special inverts etc then keeping saltwater fish is like fresh water fish. just keep in mind your filtration needs to keep the tank a lot more stable than in fresh water.

Edited by chatfouz

Well I know I want to do corals...maybe 2-3 small fish. SPS and LPS

research is the best friend in keepin salt stuff.

about.com i think has a bunch of decent info. articles are well done.