Choose My Adventure

Aegrus

Hello all,

I'm new to the saltwater hobby. So new in fact that I will not be starting a tank for a few more months.

Right now I am reading up and trying to understand the fundamentals and various methodologies.

I was hoping for some feedback to point me in the right direction. I plan to start with a 90 gallon glass reef-tank and I've read up on sumps, etc.

What I was hoping you all could assist with was a list of everything I would need to get started, including makes and models you recommend, for my proposed set up. A shopping list if you will.

I would appreciate any feedback you could offer and I'm not opposed to reading up so feel free to drop links or suggest books ,etc. One thing I've already learned from you is go slow, so I think I have that part down.

Oh, and my plan for the tank is to simply have a color explosion of fish, etc. I want it to invoke that double rainbow effect!

Thanks!

What you want to do on your reef. There are soft coral, lps and sps corals, mixed corals or fish only with live rock, or....

Any idea of what you want to put in the tank yet. This will greatly influence the type of advise you will get.

post-77-0-23868600-1291434827_thumb.jpg

What you want to do on your reef. There are soft coral, lps and sps corals, mixed corals or fish only with live rock, or....

Any idea of what you want to put in the tank yet. This will greatly influence the type of advise you will get.

My initial understanding is that SPS are harder to care for but tend to be more colorful? I would say SPS with fish but how difficult would it be to have a slight mix between SPS and LPS?

Thanks for your response, I'm already learning more.