Do I Need More Flow?

phamily

Hi Yall,

I am new to saltwater and started my AP 24 gallon about 5 months with softies, lps, mushrooms and zoas + fish(sixline, watchman, and bicolor blenny. After viewing all the members' gallery I started to admire those beautiful SPS. So about 2-3 weeks ago I started purchasing small SPS frags from Aquatek and river city.

Please advice me on what i need to add to my current setup and/or be cautious about to be successful with SPS in my nano tank.

Here is my current setup:

AP 24 gal with 150 MH, 30lbs LR + argonite substrate, sapphire skimmer, DYI refugium, stock pump, small in tank pump from my fission skimmer. I run a deskfan to cool my tank down-temp at 79-80.7 F. Evaropation is getting bad (add about .5-1 gal RO/day), currently looking into a DIY ATO (or should i just get a chiller).

post-215-1179171943_thumb.jpg

Looks nice. How many GPH do estimate is moving thru the tank? I would also keep the SPS at the top and under the light. I also would get an ATO system. It makes life so much easier! And if you are keeping it cool enough with fans a chiller is very expensive. HTH

Looks nice. How many GPH do estimate is moving thru the tank? I would also keep the SPS at the top and under the light. I also would get an ATO system. It makes life so much easier! And if you are keeping it cool enough with fans a chiller is very expensive. HTH

thanks for the advice. I probably have about 300 GPH moving in the tank...I'm thinking of getting a MJ 600 or a Koralia 1.

Yeah that is only about 12x turnover. SPS would like more than that. I think I would go with the Koralia over the Maxijet just because it has a wider stream which would help more in a small tank like that.

so what is the recommended turnover rate? I just order a koralia from Dr.foster....RiverCity are out the last few weeks thanks