Helloooooo from Round Rock

Elizzy

Hi there! Been trolling the boards for a few days now – lots of great info! Recently (as in 2 days ago) set up a 29 gallon reef tank. Bought 2 live rocks, live sand, Coralife Aqualight (30" – yes they do exist) dual T5 HO (figure I'll gripe about the ballasts later), water from Amazonia. This is a converted cichlid growth tank, so I've got all the other equipment (don't worry, I'm a reef newb, not an aquaria newb).

Questions:

Since there are no fish in the tank, should I just buy all the rocks now and throw them all in? Should I remove the tiny shrimp I saw? Worried it could be mantis, although it definitely appeared shrimp-like and not mantis-like…was fast, small, clear –Pistol, maybe? Removed bristle worm with long fork. Eventually would like to get corals, clowns, mandarin.

About me: Originally from the Washington, DC area – Old Town Alexandria, VA specifically. Got my Divemaster cert off the Great Barrier Reef over 20 years ago. Had great aspirations to become a marine biologist, but became a gypsy instead, travelling the pacific northwest and Australia for a number of years. Moved to Austin in 2000, live in Round Rock now. Have never lost my love of the ocean, guess I never will ;)

Best,

-eLiz

Welcome, always good to have another Round Rocker in the crowd as well as a fellow diver.

Probably want to keep the bristle worms you see in the future. While there are a couple varieties (fireworms) that can be problematic the vast majority are both harmless and beneficial.

Hi Mama, hope to post some pictures soon! Need to dig them out.

Thanks for the info Gonzobob.

Was checking out the rocks tonight and saw one of the "shrimp" catch a snail and eat it. Slightly concerned -- wondering if you can give me any advice. Read about how to catch mantis shrimp...this shrimp eating the snail was small (1cm)...I did however, see a larger red and white shrimp, probably about an inch or so, run around the rock and then hide in hole.