Added Another 10K Bulb to T5 Fixture

Derek

Today I decided to get an additional 10K bulb to add to my T5 fixture. I needed to have a bit more depth penetration in the light output. I was considering getting an LED spotlight, but I figured I would try an additional 10K since they are way cheaper. So far things are looking good. My Kenya Trees are still hiding a bit but everything else is out and happy.

Have you tried a high par bulb like ATI Blue plus or Aquablue? The extra par could help get the light get to the bottom.

I have not. I'm still learning about the different types of bulbs. I'll read about then and see if the would help. I prefer whiter lights. The blues make me feel like it is artificial.

If you want another arctic bulb, I have one I will give you it is 48"

Thanks Alex. My fixture is a 36 inch fixture. I have a spare actinic bulb now since I removed one and replaced it with a 10K.

Today I decided to get an additional 10K bulb to add to my T5 fixture. I needed to have a bit more depth penetration in the light output. I was considering getting an LED spotlight, but I figured I would try an additional 10K since they are way cheaper. So far things are looking good. My Kenya Trees are still hiding a bit but everything else is out and happy.

The kenya trees may just need more water flow. i had a problem trying to get mine to open all the way. i moved it up and down in the tank and had the same results. then i decided to put it in a strong current and it opened like never before. I did the same with my Palau and it has sprouted well.

I was considering getting an LED spotlight...

I strongly support this idea :cool: If changing one of your T5's out doesn't exactly achieve the result you're looking for, hopefully the lighting I look forward to putting together later this month will give some insight and good visual ideas of what the PAR38's can do over a tank for locals who haven't seen them yet.